Honestly

What did not work.

All 21 records of 383 that the database counts as failed. This is not an editorial selection: the rule reads “status cancelled, superseded or paused, or a documented shortfall”, it also drives the “Failed” pill in the catalogue, and you can reproduce it yourself from /api/projekty.json, so those three numbers have to agree down to a single record.

How a record lands on this list

In two ways, and both are in the data. Carrying the status cancelled, paused or superseded: 20. A site standing idle for years is a failure whether or not anyone signed a decision to close it. Formally alive or completed, but carrying a documented shortfall material to their own scale, five per cent of cost and up: 1. How we compute the failure rate.

How much of it is a figure

Sunk costs, meaning money spent and lost: PLN 2.8 billion; the amounts are nominal and from different years, so they do not add up to anything comparable with today's prices; those recorded in a foreign currency enter the sum at the site fixed rate. Accounting write-downs, meaning a reduction of asset value on the balance sheet: PLN 16.8 billion; that is not the same thing as money spent, which is why it stands apart. Amounts named by a state audit or examined in an investigation: PLN 2.1 billion; those enter neither sum, because nobody has settled them yet. Records with no amount: 15. No amount does not mean nothing was lost: on one of them a source confirms the loss and gives it in several approximations that we do not combine into one figure, and on the rest nobody established it. The total is in zloty, so it also holds figures recorded in a foreign currency (1) at the site fixed rate. Each of those stands in its row as the source wrote it, so the column will not add up to this number directly. Of the sunk-cost total, PLN 2.0 billion stands on Wikipedia, which our independent-source count treats as zero (one record). A row carrying such a figure bears the same mark as the project card.

And even these are rarely black-and-white: Izera was cancelled, and the company that developed it is preparing a different car with Foxconn under a new brand. The post-Northvolt battery factory in Gdańsk is not on the list, although its investor went bankrupt: a new owner restarted production there. Every case is in the database – with full context.

The table scrolls sideways: the Cost and Shortfall columns are off screen.

ProjectDomainStatusWhy here
Orlen Olefiny III (original scope)Industrysuperseded2024PLN 51 billionestimatePLN 16.8 billion lost (write-down)stopped
"Żarnowiec" Nuclear Power PlantEnergycancelled1982not statedUSD 500 million lost wikistopped
Ostrołęka C Power Plant (coal unit)Energycancelled2018PLN 6.0 billioncontractPLN 1.3 billion lost (named by an audit or under investigation)stopped
Warsaw-Radom Airport (expansion of the Radom-Sadków airport)Transportcompleted2018PLN 800 millionbudget envelopePLN 813 million lost (named by an audit or under investigation)material shortfall
Izera / ElectroMobility Poland (Polish electric car)Industrycancelled2020PLN 580 millionestimatePLN 580 million loststopped
Saule Technologies (commercialization of perovskite solar cells)Industrycancelled2014not statedPLN 250 million loststopped
Intel semiconductor assembly and test factory near Wrocław (Miękinia)Industrycancelled2023PLN 18 billionbudget envelopenot establishedstopped
Flood Protection Programme for the Upper Vistula BasinEnvironmentsuperseded2011PLN 13 billionbudget envelopenot establishedstopped
Programme for the Oder 2006 (multi-year programme for the modernisation of the Oder Water System)Environmentsuperseded2001PLN 9.0 billionbudget envelopenot establishedstopped
Siarzewo Barrage on the VistulaEnvironmentpaused2017PLN 7.5 billionbudget envelopenot establishedstopped
New 900 MW Coal-Fired Unit at Rybnik Power Plant (EDF, abandoned)Energycancelled2011PLN 7.4 billionbudget envelopenot establishedstopped
Approx. 850 MW CCGT Unit at Blachownia Power Plant (Elektrownia Blachownia Nowa, KGHM/TAURON, abandoned)Energycancelled2012PLN 3.5 billionbudget envelopenot establishedstopped
Cross-city rail tunnel in Łódź (Łódź Fabryczna – Łódź Kaliska/Żabieniec)Transportpaused2016PLN 2.3 billionestimateestablished, no figurestopped
Second line of the Yamal–Europe pipeline (Yamal II) with compressor stations – abandoned projectEnergycancelled1993PLN 1.4 billionestimatenot establishedstopped
CPK Rail Spokes (hub-and-spoke model)Transportcancelled2017not statednot establishedstopped
Elektrownia Północ (Rajkowy near Pelplin)Energycancelledno datenot statednot establishedstopped
Gubin-Brody Complex (Lignite Mine and Power Plant)Industrycancelled2016not statednot establishedstopped
IGCC Unit at the Bogdanka Mine (coal gasification, Enea/Mitsubishi)Energycancelled2018not statednot establishedstopped
Mieszkanie Plus ProgrammeOthercancelled2016not statednot establishedstopped
Tender for H225M Caracal multirole helicopters (cancelled 2016)Defencecancelled2012not statednot establishedstopped
Złoczew Open-Pit Mine (lignite for Bełchatów)Industrycancelledno datenot statednot establishedstopped

Every row leads to the record and its sources. Amounts are nominal, with no inflation adjustment. A figure recorded in a foreign currency is converted at the site fixed rate (USD 4.00 / EUR 4.30 / SEK 0.38) and the row shows it in the currency of its source.